Lawkidunya Banner

PPP’s Agha Siraj Durrani Continues Stint as Speaker Sind Assembly 2018

PPP's Agha Siraj Durrani Continues Stint as Speaker Sind Assembly 2018

KARACHI: Pakistan Peoples Party’s (PPP) Agha Siraj Durrani re-elected as Speaker Sindh Assembly Elections 2018 and Rehana Leghari was Elected Deputy Speaker.

Siraj Durrani was received total 96 votes while contesting against Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan’s (MQM-P) Javed Hanif who bagged 59 votes.

The election of deputy speaker commenced after Durrani’s took his oath. PPP’s Rehana Leghari contested against Rabia Afzar for the deputy speaker slot. Azfar was pitched by other parliamentary parties in the provincial assembly, including Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM), Grand Democratic Alliance (GDA) and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI).

The elections for Speaker Sind Assembly are being held through a secret ballot. Nadir Magsi, a PPP MPA, has been appointed presiding officer and is conducting the election. Nasir Shah is PPP’s election agent and Khurrum Sher Zaman is the opposition’s agent.

The PPP has already nominated former chief minister Murad Ali Shah as leader of the house for the second consecutive term. On the other hand, opposition parties have reached a consensus over the name of GDA’s Sheharyar Mahar.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *