Lawkidunya Banner

Asad Qaiser Elected Speaker National Assembly Election 2018

Asad Qaiser Elected Speaker National Assembly Election 2018

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf Candidate and most famous person Asad Qaisar has become Speaker of the National Assembly Elections and defeating Khursheed Shah of joint opposition .

Asad Qaiser secured 176 votes while Khurshee Shah managed to bag 146. Eight votes were rejected during the count as per announcement by Ex-Speaker. Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf Chairman Imran Khan, Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari, Asif Ali Zardari and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz President Shahbaz Sharif attended the session.

The PTI, presently having 150 members in the House, claims support of a total of more than 174 MNAs and it would be big upset for the party if results in elections for the seats of speaker and deputy speaker do not come in its favour. The PTI would own victory of its candidates to support of its allied parties, including the Grand Democratic Alliance (GDA), Balochistan Awami Party (BAP), Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P), Balochistan National Party (BNP), Awami Muslim League (AML) and Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q).

As per officials, total 324 members of the National Assembly out of the MNAs who were notified as successful took oath from the outgoing speaker on Monday. The remaining five MNAs, if turn up in the House, will take oath today. Outgoing Speaker Sardar Ayaz Sadiq will conduct the election of the speaker and will also administer oath to him.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *