Lawkidunya Banner

5 Types of Writs in Pakistan as Per Law

The orders which a High Court may issue under Article 199 are also known as writs. They are the writs of prohibition, mandamus, certiorari, habeas corpus and quo warranto. Mr. Justice Rustam Kayani, the former Chief Justice of West Pakistan High Court was a great admirer of the writ jurisdiction.

Under the 1956 constitution of Pakistan the Supreme Court and High Courts had the power to issue the prerogative writs of mandamus, habeas corps, certiorari, prohibition and quo warranto the Supreme Court could issue these writs only to protect a fundamental right, whereas the High Courts could also issue them for any.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *